How To Get a Copy of Your Crash Report

///How To Get a Copy of Your Crash Report
How To Get a Copy of Your Crash Report 2017-10-26T13:01:10+00:00

Our Milwaukee car accident lawyers discuss how you can get a copy of your crash report.

A police crash report can play an important role in your case. While it may not be admitted in a trial, it can serve several import functions. For instance, the crash report can provide basic information such as:

  • Date, time and location of the crash
  • Weather, traffic and road conditions at the crash site
  • Details about the crash, including the angle of the collision (or a diagram of it)
  • Names of all of the drivers involved in the crash and their insurers.

The report will give our attorneys, investigators and experts a launching point for our own investigation of your auto accident. For example, the report will contain the responding law enforcement officer’s assessment of how the crash occurred and the officer’s identification of factors that contributed to the crash.

Our investigation typically will focus on the officer’s assessment and whether it was accurate or not.

Most importantly, a Wisconsin Crash Report will help our legal team to identify witnesses who can be contacted about your case as part of our investigation. These witnesses may eventually be called on to provide sworn statements that are either written (affidavits) or oral (depositions). They may also be called on to testify at a trial.

For these reasons, it is important to obtain a copy of the crash report as soon as possible after your accident. You can bring the report to your initial consultation with an attorney from Techmeier Law Firm or you can ask us to order a copy of the report for you.

If you want to get a copy of the report on your own, you simply need to go to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) website. You can order a copy online. To do so, you will need:

  • Date of your crash and at least one party’s driver’s license number; or
  • WisDOT document form number; or
  • WisDOT accident number.

Free WI Car Accident Report button - Click HereYou will be charged $6 for each copy of the report, which can be downloaded as a PDF. You can pay for the report online by using a credit/debit card or electronic checking.

Every law enforcement agency that responds to a crash must file a crash report with WisDOT. However, it may take up to two weeks after the crash before the report is available through the WisDOT database.

If you would like a copy of the report sooner, then you may wish to contact the local law enforcement agency who responded to your crash.

If 90 days or longer have passed since your accident, you can request a report by e-mailing the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles at